AN ANALYSIS OF THE PROPOSED BUDGET FOR FISCAL YEAR BEGINNING JUNE 30, 2018

Friends – The critically important subject document is now being examined by the Mayor and Council. Approval of the budget will be requested at the June 12 Council meeting. The following are pertinent numbers:

1. TOWN PROPERTY TAX BASE IN SUBJECT BUDGET:  $ 1,142,036,477, A 1.2% INCREASE OVER THE       ESTIMATED CURRENT BASE AND AN ESTIMATED 1.7% INCREASE OVER THE PAST FIVE YEARS.

2. ESTIMATED TOWN POPULATION:  1241, A 0.7% INCREASE OVER THE PAST FIVE YEARS

3. CONSUMER PRICE INDEX INCREASE OVER THE PAST FIVE YEARS 3.3%

4. PROPERTY TAX RATE RECOMMENDED 38 CENTS/$ 100, A 2.7% INCREASE OVER THE CURRENT RATE AND A 35.7% INCREASE OVER THE PAST FIVE YEARS.

5. BASIC WATER RATE RECOMMENDED $ 45.00, A 2.27% INCREASE OVER THE CURRENT YEAR AND A 26.76% INCREASE OVER THE PAST FIVE YEARS.

6. BASIC SEWER RATE RECOMMENDED $ 45.00, A 2.27% INCREASE OVER THE CURRENT YEAR AND A 26.76% INCREASE OVER THE PAST FIVE YEARS.

7. RECOMMENDED GENERAL FUND EXPENDITURES FOR 2018-2019 ARE $ 8,257,526, A 3.15% INCREASE OVER THE CURRENT YEAR AND A 75.65% INCREASE OVER THE PAST FIVE YEARS.

 

The total Recommended Budget for 2018-2019 can be seen on the Town of Blowing Rock website. Comments and questions on the budget should be addressed to Mayor Charlie Sellers (csellers@tobr.us), Mayor ProTem Albert Yount (ayount@tobr.us), Council Members Doug Matheson (dmatheson@tobr.us), Virginia Powell (vpowell@tobr.us), Jim Steele (jsteele@tobr.us), and Sue Sweeting (ssweeting@tobr.us).

 

Best regards,

George Wilcox

Posted in News, Posts.