Tax Increases in the Town of Blowing Rock

Wilcpen (wilcpen@aol.com)To:you Details
Financials of Blowing Rock Pas…pdf (237 KB)

 

 

To Friends and Members of Blowing Rock Civic Association

Blowing Rock Civic Association has added over 200 members in just the 2 months of June and July, 2017.  Thanks to all of you who understand our mission to Protect and Enhance life in Blowing Rock.
We have just updated our website.  So visit us at brcivic.com.  Enjoy the roving pictures of Blowing Rock and the news and events.  Note the membership tab.  We hope you will become a member.

 

Did you get your tax bill?  Was the combined increase for the Town of Blowing Rock and Watauga County 22%?  Mine was 21.5%  DO YOU THINK THIS PERCENT IS SUSTAINABLE?

 

The property tax increase of 21.5% increase in just one year along with the increased spending in the Town of Blowing Rock over the past 4 years shows an alarming trend (This chart is attached)  This is very burdensome on lower income families who know and love Blowing Rock and want to live in Blowing Rock.  Plus any tax increase that can be passed on makes everything more expensive for homeowners, renters, tourist, and businesses.  Probably no business will take a tax increase without trying to revamp their costs.  So all products go up also.  Tax increases spirals on every level.

 

If you are concerned,  email your mayor and elected council members as well as the chair of Watauga County and their elected commissioners.

 

The Town of Blowing Rock

 

Mayor – J. B. Lawrence   jb.lawrence.br@me.com

Mayor Pro Tem – Albert Yount  albertyount@gmail.com
Jim Steele – jfsteele88@att.net
Doug Matheson – dtheboss@bellsouth.net  – Up for reelection 2017
Ray Pickett – raybrinn@gmail.com – Up for reelection 2017
Sue Sweeting – sweetingsue75@yahoo.com – Up for reelection 2017

 

Watauga County Commissioners

 

Chair – John Welch  John.Welch@watgov.org
Vice Chair – Billy Kennedy  Billy.Kennedy@watgov.org
Jimmy Hodges – Jimmy.Hodges@watgov.org
Larry Turnbow – Larry.Turnbow@watgov.org
Perry Yates – Perry.Yates@watgov.org

 

ALSO REMEMBER YOUR VOTE COUNTS

 

Betsy Wilcox
Blowing Rock Civic Association

Posted in Posts.